CENTRE DES ÉCOLES DE FORMATION DE DISCIPLES

dts centre

Suivre une École de Formation de Disciple (EFD) est une condition préalable à toute autre formation, et est  la seule porte d’accès aux sept Facultés de l’Université des Nations et à ses Centres. Une EFD sert aussi à l’orientation et la préparation  des nouveaux membres de Jeunesse en Mission et de l’Université des Nations.

Une EFD vise les objectifs suivants:

  • Réunir et encourager l’étudiant à l’adoration, l’écoute et l’obéissance à Dieu, en lui permettant (dans le contexte d’une EFD) de servir au travers de l’évangélisation, l’intercession, les actes de compassion, ainsi qu’au travers d’autres expressions qui reflètent le cœur de Dieu envers le monde ; Il lui est aussi possible d’initier de nouveaux ministères.
  • Inspirer et nourrir la croissance de sa relation avec Dieu, dans le but de devenir plus comme le Christ, ancré dans une connaissance biblique solide, influencé par l’œuvre du St Esprit et la mise en pratique au niveau personnel des vérités bibliques, particulièrement celles qui concernent le caractère de Dieu, la Croix et la grâce qui nous permet de vivre ces vérités.
  • Favoriser l’apprentissage et l’épanouissement de relations interpersonnelles, dans le contexte d’une vie commune, d’un travail commun, et d’une éducation en commun  entre des personnes qui diffèrent de par leur personnalité, leur perception de la vie et leur arrière-plan culturel.
  • Préparer chaque personne à servir les desseins de Dieu au sein de JEM, ainsi qu’au sein de tout autre relation dans les sphères de la société, en encourageant un engagement à atteindre les perdus, particulièrement ceux qui n’ont pas encore été atteints par l’Évangile, de prendre soin de ceux qui vivent dans la pauvreté, et d’exercer une influence dans tous les domaines de la société ;
  • Transmettre la vision et les valeurs fondamentales de JEM International, ainsi que celles de la base de JEM au niveau local, pourvoir à des informations quant aux diverses possibilités de service  offertes une fois l’EFD achevée avec succès.

L’EFD a pour objectif de graduer des étudiants:

  • Dont la connaissance de Dieu, la profondeur et la largesse de son caractère et de ses voies, s’épanouit, particulièrement dans le domaine de son amour envers chaque personne, et chaque culture ;
  • Dont la relation avec Dieu et avec les hommes reflète de plus en plus Jésus ;
  • Dont la réponse à la présence fortifiante intime du St Esprit dans leur vie augmente ;
  • Dont l’obéissance et l’écoute de Dieu découlent de la grâce de Dieu dans leurs vies ;
  • Dont les convictions et la façon de vivre sont transformées par une lecture en profondeur de la Parole ;
  • Dont le style de vie reflète une adoration, une intercession et une mise en pratique du combat spirituel grandissants ;
  • Dont la vie et le travail démontrent une vraie harmonie les uns avec les autres, particulièrement avec ceux qui sont différents d’eux- mêmes ;
  • Qui savent partager l’Évangile avec les perdus, et qui se sont engagés à le faire tout au long de leurs vies ;
  • Qui se sont engagés, d’une façon ou d’une autre, à continuer  les œuvres de Dieu parmi les nations, en incluant les peuples non atteints par l’Évangile, les pauvres et les nécessiteux, dans toutes les sphères de la société ;
  • Qui comprennent l’appel et les valeurs de JEM , et qui ont connaissance des diverses possibilités de service qui leur sont offertes au sein du ministère de JEM.
  • Dont la compréhension des desseins et de la direction de Dieu pour leur vie ne cesse de grandir, compréhension qui commence au niveau du cœur.
  • Dont le désir de mener une vie de service pour Dieu, ses desseins et son Royaume continue de grandir , soit au travers de formations complémentaires, en joignant un ministère de JEM, ou en joignant des églises et des ministères locaux, selon les directives du Seigneur.

L’établissement d’un réseau pour le Centre des Écoles de Formation de Disciples  vise à maintenir et améliorer l’excellent standard de programmes au niveau des EFD globalement, conformément aux buts, au curriculum et aux directives proposées par la direction internationale de JEM, ainsi que par l’Université des Nations. Le personnel du Centre offre aux leaders des EFD encouragement et soutien ainsi que son expertise dans les domaines de développement pédagogique, de leadership et d’exploitation de ressources. Le Centre facilite la mise en réseau des membres du personnel et des ressources au sein des EFD, des lieux de phases pratiques et des sept Facultés/Centres de l’Université. Le Centre favorise aussi la multiplication de nouvelles EFD dans des endroits du monde stratégiques.

Les objectifs visés du réseau pour le Centre des EFD sont les suivants :

  • Travailler en partenariat avec JEM au niveau international: Développer tout un réseau de relations entre les responsables/staff d’EFD de chaque région et les EFD au niveau global, ainsi qu’avec et entre les divers ministères au sein de la famille de JEM.
  • Développement pédagogique: Contribuer à la conception des programmes pour les EFD, conformément aux buts, curriculums et directives proposées par la direction internationale de JEM et de l’UdN.
  • Formation de leaders: Faciliter la formation des leaders/personnel au sein des EFD selon les demandes et besoins existants.
  • Développement des ressources pédagogiques: Créer des ressources permettant d’améliorer la formation du personnel au sein des EFD, ou la mise en œuvre d’un aspect du curriculum de l’EFD, et faciliter la distribution de ressources nouvelles ou actuelles au sein du toutes les EFD .
  • Programme suivi: Recevoir, homologuer et réviser les documents d’enregistrement de chacun des programmes au sein des EFD.
  • Multiplication stratégique: Promouvoir la création d’ EFD pionnières et de phases pratiques  sur le terrain au sein des dix grands groupes linguistiques et des nations du monde les moins atteintes par l’Évangile.

Course Credits Type Number
Destiny by Design 3 FLW Seminar CNH/DSP 115
Discipleship Seminar 6 FLW Seminar DSP 111
Discipleship Training School 12 FLW Course DSP 211
Discipleship Training School Field Assignment 12 FLW Course DSP 212
DTS Leadership Development 6 FLW Seminar DSP 141
DTS Staff Training Seminar 3 FLW Seminar DSP 121

The UofN uses two types of credits, FLW (full learning weeks) and LCU (learning component units).

FLW credits are used with traditional residential courses and one of these credits requires a minimum of 50 hours of documented learning activities; these include our normal lectures, small groups, one-on-ones, etc.; and some of these activities are nonformal, in addition to the classroom activities and study assignments.

LCU credits are used for part-time programs like evening courses, intensive seminars, distance learning and other non-residential courses. Each LCU credit requires 25 hours of focused learning activities which can be spread over a period of time.

Centre Director

Carlinha de Paulo

Contact Details

DTS Centre International Coordinating Office
University of the Nations
PO Box 1031
Sun Valley 7985
South Africa

Website Email

International Committee

  • Elena Ciobo (Brisbane, Australia)
  • Gilberto de Mello (Contagem, Brazil)
  • Jussara de Mello (Contagem, Brazil)
  • Amos Hathway (Salem, OR, USA)
  • Vickie Hedgepeth (Charlotte, NC, USA)
  • Kima Hmar (Siliguri, India)
  • Patti Lee (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Maureen Menard (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Pete Thompson (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Lisa Whitaker (Absecom, NJ, USA)

CENTRE FOR DISCIPLESHIP TRAINING SCHOOLS

dts centre

The Discipleship Training School (YWAM DTS) is a prerequisite for all other courses and is therefore the gateway into the seven Colleges/Faculties and various Centres of the University of the Nations. The DTS also serves to orient and prepare all new Youth With A Mission (YWAM) and UofN staff.

The purpose of the DTS is:

  • To gather and challenge people to worship, listen to and obey God, releasing them (in the context of the DTS) to serve through evangelism, intercession, acts of compassion, and other expressions of God’s heart for the world, possibly even pioneering new ministries;
  • To inspire and cultivate growth in one’s relationship with God, resulting in Christ-like character which is based on a solid biblical foundation, the work of the Holy Spirit, and the personal application of biblical truth, especially concerning God’s character, the Cross and empowering grace;
  • To encourage growth in relationship skills through living, learning and working together with people who differ in personality, perspectives and cultural backgrounds;
  • To further equip every person to serve God’s purposes both within the YWAM context and in other spheres of relationship, strengthening a commitment to reach the lost, especially the unreached, to care for the poor and to be an influence in all areas of society;
  • To impart the vision and foundational values of Youth With A Mission International, as well as that of the host operating location, and to provide information regarding a variety of opportunities for service upon successful completion of the Discipleship Training School.

The DTS aims to graduate students:

  • Who are growing in understanding of the breadth and depth of God’s character and ways, and in particular of His great love for every person and culture;
  • Who are becoming more like Jesus in the way they relate to God and people;
  • Who increasingly cooperate with the empowering presence of the indwelling Holy Spirit;
  • Who listen to and obey God as the result of God’s enabling grace;
  • Who search the Scriptures in such a way that transforms beliefs values and behaviors;
  • Who are growing in lifestyles of worship, intercession and spiritual warfare;
  • Who learn to live and work well with others, especially those different from themselves;
  • Who can share the Gospel with the lost and have a life-long commitment to do so;
  • Who have a commitment to continue to be involved in some way with God’s work among the nations. including unreached people, the poor and needy and in spheres of society;
  • Who understand the calling and values of YWAM and are aware of a variety of opportunities for service with various YWAM ministries;
  • Who have a growing heart knowledge of God’s purposes for their life and a sense of their life direction;
  • Who desire to continue a lifestyle of serving God and His Kingdom purposes either by pursuing further training, joining a YWAM ministry team, or serving through local churches and ministries, as the Lord leads them.

The Centre Network for Discipleship Training Schools has been established to maintain and enhance excellence in DTS programmes worldwide in accordance with the DTS purpose, curriculum and guidelines set by the international leadership of Youth With A Mission and the University of the Nations. The Centre staff seek to serve DTS leadership by providing encouragement, support, and expertise in programme, leadership and resource development.The Centre facilitates the networking of personnel and resources among all DTS and Field Assignment/Outreach locations and the seven Colleges/Centres of the University. It also aids in stimulating the multiplication of new DTS’s in strategic locations of the world.

The goals of the DTS Centre Network are:

A. Partnering within YWAM International: to develop a relational network of DTS leaders/staff within each region that is also connected to the global DTS world and with all streams of the YWAM family of ministries.

B. Programme Development: to aid in the design of DTS programmes in accordance with the DTS purpose, curriculum and guidelines set by the international leadership of YWAM/UofN.

C. Leadership Development: to facilitate DTS leadership and staff development in response to requests and identified needs.

D. Educational Resource Development: to create resources that aid in the training of DTS staff or in implementing an aspect of the curriculum in the DTS and to facilitate the distribution of new and existing resources to the DTS world.

E. Programme monitoring: to receive, track and review course registration documentation for each DTS programme.

F. Strategic multiplication: to promote the pioneering of new DTS and Field Assignments/Outreaches in the ten major language groups and the least evangelized nations of the world.

Course Credits Type Number
Destiny by Design 3 FLW Seminar CNH/DSP 115
Discipleship Seminar 6 FLW Seminar DSP 111
Discipleship Training School (DTS) 12 FLW Course DSP 211
Discipleship Training School Field Assignment 12 FLW Course DSP 212
DTS Leadership Development 6 FLW Seminar DSP 141
DTS Staff Training Seminar 3 FLW Seminar DSP 121

The UofN uses two types of credits, FLW (full learning weeks) and LCU (learning component units).

FLW credits are used with traditional residential courses and one of these credits requires a minimum of 50 hours of documented learning activities; these include our normal lectures, small groups, one-on-ones, etc.; and some of these activities are nonformal, in addition to the classroom activities and study assignments.

LCU credits are used for part-time programs like evening courses, intensive seminars, distance learning and other non-residential courses. Each LCU credit requires 25 hours of focused learning activities which can be spread over a period of time.

Centre Director

Carlinha de Paulo

Contact Details

DTS Centre International Coordinating Office
University of the Nations
PO Box 1031
Sun Valley 7985
South Africa

Website Email

International Committee

  • Elena Ciobo (South Asia)
  • Gilberto de Mello (Contagem, Brazil)
  • Jussara de Mello (Contagem, Brazil)
  • Carlinha de Paulo (Brazil)
  • Amos Hathway (Salem, OR, USA)
  • Vickie Hedgepeth (Charlotte, NC, USA)
  • Kima Hmar (Siliguri, India)
  • Patti Lee (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Maureen Menard (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Pete Thompson (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Lisa Whitaker (Absecom, NJ, USA)